Illinois residents may purchase up to 30 grams of flower/pre-rolls; up to 500 milligrams of THC-infused edibles; and up to 5 grams of concentrates. Non-residents may purchase up to 15 grams of flower/pre-rolls; up to 2.5 grams of concentrates; and up to 250 milligrams of THC-infused edibles.
Maryland Recreational Marijuana Laws & Information
Your Guide to Shopping for Recreational Marijuana in Maryland
Maryland legalized recreational cannabis in July 2023, allowing anyone 21 years of age or older to legally purchase cannabis products from state-licensed dispensaries. The Maryland Cannabis Administration has outlined the rules and regulations around adult-use cannabis in the Free State, as well as the state’s ongoing medical cannabis program. If you are interested in learning more about recreational cannabis in Maryland, we have outlined the rules and regulations here.
Understanding Maryland Recreational Cannabis Laws
Before visiting a recreational dispensary in Maryland, make sure you meet the following requirements:
- You must be 21 years old.
- You must have a valid, government-issued photo ID.
If you meet these requirements, you are welcome to shop in a recreational dispensary in Maryland.
Marijuana Purchase & Possession Limits in Maryland
Both residents and out-of-state visitors are allowed to purchase and possess cannabis products in Maryland. However, there are limits that recreational shoppers must abide by.
Maryland Cannabis Purchase Limits
According to state laws, recreational cannabis consumers can purchase:
- Up to 1.5 ounces of cannabis flower OR
- Up to 12 grams of concentrated cannabis products, including cannabis vapes OR
- Up to 750 milligrams of THC in edible cannabis products
Maryland Cannabis Possession Limits
Maryland has set “personal use amounts” in regards to how much cannabis an adult can possess. They are:
- Up to 1.5 ounces of marijuana flower OR
- Up to 12 grams of concentrated cannabis OR
- A total amount of cannabis products that do not exceed 750 milligrams of THC
Sales Tax For Recreational Cannabis in Maryland
While medical cannabis patients in Maryland do not pay a sales tax on cannabis products, recreational cannabis shoppers can expect to pay a 9% sales tax when shopping at a state-licensed dispensary.
Where Can I Use Recreational Cannabis in Maryland?
Smoking or any other form of cannabis consumption in Maryland is limited to private property, including your home, backyard, or any other privately owned area that is out of view of the public. Marijuana is not permitted in the following scenarios:
- Public or federal land
- Any motor vehicle
- Around a minor
- Traveling across state lines
Businesses, landlords, and certain municipalities may have additional rules regarding possession of recreational cannabis. You should always check the rules for your location before consuming marijuana.
Enjoy Recreational Marijuana in Maryland
Whether you’re new to the industry or a cannabis connoisseur, our budtenders can help you choose the products that are right for you. Once you know the laws in your state, you can safely purchase and enjoy anything from premium flower to cannabis concentrates.
Want to visit one of our Maryland locations? Find a Verilife dispensary near you.