Skip to main content
Loading promo...
Close Menu
spacer image

How to Get a Massachusetts Medical Marijuana Card

Do you qualify for a medical marijuana card?

  • Are you at least 18 years of age (or are you a minor with an adult caregiver and physician certification from two physicians)?
  • Are you a legal resident of Massachusetts with proof of residency?
  • Have a qualifying health condition?
  • Have a registered healthcare provider certify that you have a qualifying condition, and have you established a bona fide relationship with that provider?

What to Expect on Your First Visit

At Verilife, we’re committed to helping you find the relief you seek every step of the way.

learn more

What do I need to apply?

  • Once certified, your physician or certified nurse practitioner will give you a Personal Identification Number (PIN) to register with the program.
  • Proof of identification
  • Proof of Massachusetts residency
  • Photo of yourself (the photo must satisfy photo requirements) 
  • Designate a personal caregiver (if necessary)

See what conditions qualify for a medical marijuana card in Massachusetts.

Qualifying Conditions

computer_icons-33.png

Apply online for your Massachusetts medical cannabis card.

You can apply for your Massachusetts medical cannabis card online through the Massachusetts Cannabis Industry Portal (MassCIP) online system. It's the fastest and most convenient way to register.

APPLY NOW

Every patient deserves the best possible care. Find out more about certifying a child for medical marijuana use.

Live your best life. See what’s needed to obtain your card as a veteran.

What you need to know before talking to your doctor. Make your doctor part of your care plan.

Frequently Asked Questions

Once you are approved you will receive an email notification. You will be able to print a temporary paper program ID from your MassCIP portal account. The Cannabis Control Commission will send you a permanent card within 2 weeks of your approval date. 

If you already have a card, you only need to apply for a medical cannabis card renewal. You must renew your registration with the Program 60 days prior to expiration. Your Program ID card expires every three years. Renew your registration with the Program 60 days before expiration. 

Visit our Verilife Wareham dispensary. You must have your medical registry ID card  and state-issued ID with you in order to purchase medical cannabis products.

Massachusetts law allows a qualifying patient to possess up to a 60-day supply for  personal medical use;  60-day supply is defined as up to 10 ounces.

Patients and caregivers must always carry their registry ID card whenever they are in possession of  approved medical cannabis products, and no one may carry cannabis products outside the state of Massachusetts.

Headset_icons-05.png

Would you rather get help from our team?

We can walk you through the entire process. You can also contact us for direct assistance with any questions you may have along the way. Our friendly patient care representatives are happy to talk.

Our hours are 9 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. EST.

888-493-6066

Loading...

This website contains medical cannabis information and is restricted to individuals 21 years of age or older. Please confirm your age and state:

  • IL
  • MD
  • MA
  • NY
  • OH
  • PA

Did you know that most medical marijuana information is state-specific? We have dispensaries in each of the above states, along with state-specific resources for patients. For the best experience, please select a state.