Skip to main content
Loading promo...
Close Menu
Woman smiling stock photo

Legal Recreational Marijuana in Illinois

Whether you need to relax at the end of a busy day or need a morning pick-me-up, there are a range of marijuana products to suit your individual needs. There's much to explore, and many things you need to know before exploring cannabis use.

Questions and Answers

You must be at least 21 years of age or older.

You must have a valid driver's license or state ID.

Illinois residents 21 years of age and older can possess:

  • 30g of marijuana flower
  • 5g of marijuana product in concentrated form
  • 500mg of THC contained in cannabis-infused product

Non-Illinois residents 21 years of age or older can possess:

  • 15g of marijuana flower
  • 2.5g of concentrates
  • 250mg of THC contained in a cannabis-infused product

NOTE: These totals are cumulative, meaning a person 21 years of age or older may possess a combination of marijuana flower, cannabis-infused products, and concentrates up to the limit for each category of product.

Due to federal banking regulations, we do not accept credit cards. We accept cash or you can use your debit card with a Cashless ATM system onsite. We also have traditional ATMs at each location.

Taxes will vary based on what is purchased and potency level of product. Additional taxes may include municipal or county taxes.

Transporting marijuana in your motor vehicle is permitted in Illinois if the cannabis is in a secured, odor-proof, child-resistant container and inaccessible during transport and you are:

  • An adult 21 years of age or older; or
  • A registered medical cannabis patient, or  a registered caregiver for a patient

Marijuana cannot be used in a motor vehicle.

Even though recreational marijuana will be legal in Illinois starting in January 2020, cannabis is still an illegal controlled substance under federal law. You could be arrested and/or possibly face criminal charges if you cross state lines with marijuana products. 

It is never safe to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of marijuana. It is illegal to operate, navigate, or be in actual physical control of any motor vehicle, aircraft, or motorboat while under the influence of marijuana. Nothing in Illinois law prevents the arrest or prosecution of an individual for operating a motor vehicle under the influence of marijuana. Anyone who refuses a properly requested test related to operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of cannabis can face criminal charges.

The law prohibits smoking marijuana in any public place or any other place where smoking is prohibited under the Smoke-Free Illinois Act. The law prohibits using or possessing marijuana in a private residence that is used at any time to provide licensed child care, foster care or other similar social service care on the premises. 

Please note, this is not an all-inclusive list of prohibited activities for the possession or use of cannabis in the State of Illinois. 

 

Yes, in Illinois employers are allowed to test for marijuana.

If stored correctly, marijuana can retain its potency for months. Always be sure to follow the storage instructions provided on the product. However, edible products map be perishable depending upon the ingredients. Always be sure to follow the storage instructions provided on the product.

Loading...

This website contains medical cannabis information and is restricted to individuals 21 years of age or older. Please confirm your age and state:

  • IL
  • MA
  • MD
  • OH
  • PA
  • NY

Did you know that most medical marijuana information is state-specific? We have dispensaries in each of the above states, along with state-specific resources for patients. For the best experience, please select a state.